October Happenings

I have a lot of things going on this month and even if I don’t outwardly show it, I’m detecting subtle signs of stress building up. I’m doing my best to handle it and deal with everything but the mind and body react.

There’s an air of uncertainty about my employment. The hospital is bringing in an outside company to take care of some of the computer support to include some of the duties I was brought in to do. Technically, my contract is up at the end of the month and I’m in the dark as to whether it will be extended. Nobody at the parent company nor the hospital have told me anything. I’ve spoken with a representative of the incoming company and they seem interested in having me. I’ve updated my resumé and I’m getting it posted to the various boards. If I’ve learned anything in the last 20 months, nothing is certain. And then there are the everyday frustrations of the job.

I’ve got two procedures, one dental and one surgical, scheduled around the last weekend of the month. I don’t know if it was wise to schedule them so close together but I’m committed to them. It will be interesting to say the least.

On that Friday, I’m having a dental implant done. Essentially a periodontist is drilling a hole into my jawbone and screwing in a titanium post which will eventually support a crown. Both my dentist and the periodontist have told me that it’s essential for the health of the bone and is the best of the available options.

Then on Monday, I’m due to have outpatient surgery to fix my inguinal hernia. I’m hoping that it won’t keep me off work more than a couple of days. Prior to the surgery I have to get blood work, x-rays and an EKG done. Then I have to go to a pre-admission appointment and consult with the anesthesiologist. Then there’s the surgery, the recovery period and a post-op appointment.

My yoga practice has been one of the most consistent things in my life lately. It’s something I enjoy and it helps to keep me balanced and helps to alleviate the feelings of FUD. Since discovering the hernia, I’ve had to modify and cut back on my practice. I’ll have to cut back even more during the post-op period. I hope it won’t be too long before I can resume my normal practice. I intend to keep doing yoga in some form throughout it all, even if it’s only pranayama and meditation.

There are some serious things coming up and uncertainty about the future but we’ll get through it all one way or another. These things are transient and they shall pass.

Leave a Reply

