Weekend Road Trip

My weekend trip back to the homeland was a welcome respite from life in Dayton. It was good to experience the peace and quiet, the sound of the crickets and the tree frogs and the distant roar of the drag strip. That roar was there when I was growing up out there and I just associate it with the other sounds in the area.

My visit to the Westfield Cemetery was pretty much a bust. I found the family plot but very few headstones, particularly not the ones I was interested in. There was a large stone in the center of the plot with “Ossman” carved across the front. There was absolutely nothing to mark the graves of my aunt and two cousins. I should have a mailing address for the cemetery somewhere. I guess I can write to the cemetery office and see what information they’ll provide.

After the cemetery I made my way to the parking area above Chautauqua Gorge where I met several members of the Northcoast Naturists for a group freehike through the Gorge to Skinny-Dip Falls. I’ve never gotten into hiking before but the freehike was quite enjoyable and the water at the falls was cold and refreshing. I hear there may be another group hike later in the summer. I’ll attend if at all possible. I’ll certainly be better prepared.

After I got back from New York, Dad and I looked at a couple of covered bridges. I got some nice pictures (see my Flickr in the sidebar). As always, it was good to spend time with Dad. I would have liked to have helped him some with his firewood but I was recovering from a pulled muscle in my back and didn’t want to risk aggravating it further. I’m sure my hike didn’t help it much.

I spent Sunday relaxing before I made the drive home. Dad suggested that I get some sun in the backyard and said I could do it bare-assed if I wanted. The offer was tempting but maybe I’ll do that next time. The only neighbor keeps to himself, there’s nothing but wetlands all around and hardly anyone ever drops by unexpectedly. I was surprised to hear that idea coming from him. He’s full of surprises.

One Response

  1. I talked to my dad yesterday who visited my cousin Lisa who told him that Pat and Vicki had stones located behind the big Ossman stone. I didn’t see them when I was there but I was kind of rushed and may have overlooked them. I plan to get up to visit Dad again this summer and I’ll make another drive up there.

Leave a Reply

