May ’10 update

There hasn’t been much new going on in my life since the last entry but I felt the urge to write something anyway. I’ve been at the new job for about a month now and it’s going well. I’m still learning things about their operation and learning to navigate around the hospital but my confidence is rising daily. There are moments when I feel some of the old frustrations but I’m getting better about letting those things go. There’s some uncertainty on the horizon as the hospital is in negotiations to turn over some of their IT operations to a third party. I’ll just keep showing up until they tell me otherwise. If my status changes, I’ll deal with it.

In the meantime, I’m trying to budget and put money aside to take care of things that have been neglected for the past few years and to build up some reserves so we’re better prepared should money get tight again. That we survived our five-year ordeal is incredible and I will do whatever it takes to avoid anything remotely similar.

I’m also adjusting to the new job in other ways. Even though it’s not apparently obvious, even to me sometimes, I’m seeing subtle signs of stress. My blood pressure and blood glucose levels have been up and down and I often feel tension in my shoulders and lower back. The tension is nowhere near the levels I had felt back at that other job but I’m mindful of it. The yoga has certainly helped me relax and become more aware of what my body is telling me. The next step is to listen to it, give it what it needs and let go of what it doesn’t need. I’m working on non-attachment.

The last 10 to 12 months have opened up a lot of new experiences and opportunities for me. The yoga experience has been great and I’m exploring as many aspects of that as I can. I’m taking several different classes such as hot yoga, yoga conditoning, an intermediate class and a slow flow class. They each have different challenges and provide different benefits. I’m finding that I enjoy the slower paced classes best. They seem to fit my style better and I find them more meditative, relaxing and restorative. The other classes are more physical for me and less meditative. Maybe it’s the challenge of getting myself into better condition after decades of living a sedentary lifestyle. I’ll get there one day, one class at a time.

I’ve got a lot going on. With summer coming on, I’m looking forward to some new naturist experiences and getting some projects done around the house. I’m working on building and rebuilding and maintaining relationships with family, old friends, new friends and myself. I think the secret is to remember the past, look to the future, but live in the present. Right now is really all we have.

Leave a Reply

