Adho Mukha Svanasana

Technorati Tags: ,

I’ve been practicing Yoga for about seven months now and I’ve progressed from beginners’ classes to an intermediate level. In that time I’ve noticed physical changes as well as mental and spiritual. I enjoy the challenge of Asana and Pranayama and I’ve been learning and trying to absorb the philosophical and spiritual aspects as well. One of yoga’s great attractions for me has been its holistic approach. The body, mind and spirit are not separate entities but inter-related and overlapping aspects of the same being. What occurs in one affects the others.

Recently, I began to consolidate my yoga experiences from my journal, my tweets and anywhere else I had documented them, into an offline yoga blog. In this offline blog, I also entered information from books and magazines. Yesterday, I decided to create an online blog to document my yogic journey in order to share my experiences and, hopefully, give myself more accountability in my practice and maybe inspire others.

At the moment, the blog mainly consists of snippets from classes and home practice with some items I’ve found in books, magazines and others’ blogs. But I will, in time, be adding my own commentary and ideas as I continue on this journey and my practice deepens.

Adho Mukha Svanasana, getting down with the down dog. I named it after one of my favorite asanas, Downward-facing-dog. It’s a very versatile pose incorporating a inversion and a forward bend as it works the arms, shoulders, core, hamstrings and calves. It’s also serves as a transition to many other poses.

Namaste

2 Responses

  1. My posts here also appear as notes on my Facebook page. In response to the note, a Christian friend provided a link to Random Thoughts of a Confused Xtian in which Confused Christian posted the following:

    Could never quite figure out how maneuvering your body into the crouching cricket position brings you any closer to God.

    I’d rather pray and not worry about physically stretching something out of shape.

    Hopefully after praying I’ll stretch spiritually.

    I don’t know how well I can explain it but I’ll give it a shot. Yoga postures, in and of themselves, do not bring me any closer to God. The postures by themselves are merely exercise. Yoga is much more than twisting and stretching and assuming various poses. Through the physical postures, proper breathing and meditation (prayer is a form of meditation) I make my body and mind fit for the spirit. In a way, my body is my temple to the Lord, a place of worship I carry with me wherever I go. Additionally, there are other facets of Yoga that provide a framework for right living, compassion for all living things as well as devotion and service to the Lord.

    Yoga can be very spiritual but it is not a religion. In the practice of Yoga, I am free to follow my own faith and worship as I please. By quieting my mind, I hope that in the resulting silence, I will find greater clarity, stretch spiritually and connect to the Divne.

    For what it’s worth…

  2. […] Asana bring me closer to God? In response to my Facebook note, Adho Mukha Svanasana, a Christian friend provided a link to Random Thoughts of a Confused Xtian in which Confused […]

Leave a Reply

