A New Year

I survived the holidays. All the time off from work proved to be quite relaxing but I won’t fool myself into believing the stress levels will not rise again once I return to work.

And there’s a bit of guilt about my blood glucose levels. They went up during the whole holiday period and I know my next hbA1C will give me away. Now that the holidays are over and life is finally returning to normal or what passes for normal, I’m going to get back on the horse and ride it. I saw something in “Diabetes Health Monitor” that put it in a different perspective for me: Pre-diabetic is technically diabetic. For all intents and purposes I should be approaching the monitoring, the carb counting, and taking care of my health as if I actually had the disease in order to keep from needing medication to treat it.

With that in mind, I’m probably going to seem anal about carb counting, reading nutrition labels, and pricking my finger. Over the weekend I cleared out my exercise space with the intention of actually using it daily. I know I’ve had those intentions before but it’s time for me to get over the Brewster Syndrome. When I see my doctor this spring, I want to be down to 12 stone (168 pounds). I also want to look good naked this summer.

I have made a few resolutions and goals for the new year and I’m hopeful I can accomplish them. I won’t go into detail here but they cover several areas where I feel I need to improve — health, family, genealogy, naturism, relaxation, reading, and transportation. I’m sure that any improvements I make in these areas will have beneficial effects in other areas.

Leave a Reply

