Losing weight without really trying

Today’s Quote: “When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.” ~ P. J. O’Rourke

I’ve lost about 10 pounds or so since I began watching my carb intake back in June. I’m not really sure how much exactly because I recently got a new electronic scale as a door prize during a health fair at work. There seems to be at least a five pound discrepancy between the two scales. But the pounds are gradually coming off and that’s a good thing. I began watching my carbs to bring down and maintain my blood glucose levels and the weight loss has been a pleasant side effect.

It really hasn’t been that difficult to work pricking my finger and making conscious decisions about what I eat into my daily routine. I’m eating much less but I don’t feel any hungrier during the day than I did before. I’m still eating pretty much the same foods, just less of them and I’ve cut out much of the junk food from my diet. I find that I don’t miss the junk and I don’t feel deprived. I’m probably eating just about the amount that I should be. I’m not sure since I haven’t really been looking at other factors such as fats, protein, and calories. I know I should and I will as I learn more about them.

I still need to work in some moderate exercise to help bring my various numbers (weight, blood pressure, cholesterol, glucose) into their respective normal ranges. Yeah, I’m still resisting that. (Curse you, Mr. Brewster!)

Now that I’ve taken the first steps towards better physical health, I should probably work on my mental outlook. Stress seems to be my biggest enemy, coming at me from all directions and affecting every aspect of my life, mostly in a negative way. I can see the signs, even if others can’t. Although I can discern its effects, I often feel powerless and immobilized in the face of it, especially when I see more stress massing on the horizon. In the foreseeable future, my life is going to get a lot more stressful and I’m already feeling overwhelmed. I just deal with it the best I can, one day at a time.

On a related note, how does one reconcile technology and simplicity? Maybe that’s a topic for another entry.

One Response

  1. The pounds are still slowly coming off and I’ve lost about another ten pounds since the original post. My old jeans have gotten rather baggy and the smaller pants I used to have to squeeze into are now a comfortable fit. I found it necessary to purchase a new belt and a couple pairs of new jeans. By spring I fully expect to be near my goal of 170 pounds.

    The stressors I face certainly haven’t gone away or diminisihed but I seem to be handling them better. I wish how I’m handling them better but I don’t know myself. For all I know, the calm may only be on the surface although indicators like bood pressure and blood glucose levels don’t show anything unsual.

    I’m still not exercising regularly and I know I should be. I know it’s probably one of the most effective ways of getting my blood pressure, blood glucose, cholesterol, and weight where they should be. Exercise would most likely imrove my mental outlook, reduce stress, and help me though the more depressive moments. In effect, regular exercise could be the key to bringing things into balance. I’ll try to work on that.

Comments are closed.

