Mandatory fun accomplished

I was directed to attend a baseball game this past Tuesday. The director’s email stressed the importance of participating in this “exercise.” I’m not sure what he meant by that but I’m sure it’s something from a management seminar or something. I did notice a certain lack of randomness in his pairings for the games. He paired each employee with the person they work with most closely. Maybe he’ll pass out a survey or call a meeting to discuss our feelings. Perhaps he’ll have us write essays. I don’t know. I’m still unsure how I feel about my involuntary participation in a socilogy experiment.

At first I was resistant to the idea of mandatory fun and reluctant to participate. But after the paintball thing I decided to go along with it. Not that I had anything planned for Tuesday evening anyway and the only out of pocket cost was parking. (Can I get reimbursed for that?) I took a vacation day because, otherwise, the logistics of getting to the game on time would have been difficult at best.

Although I’m not a sports fan by any stretch of the imagination (guess how many Olympic events I’ve seen), I did find the game interesting. We had good seats on the third base line near the home team’s dugout so I had an excellent view of the game. I even stayed for the entire game. I’d probably go again although not because it was my idea. Baseball still isn’t a sport I can get enthused about but watching a minor league game can be a nice change of pace for an evening’s entertainment.

One Response

  1. It’s been nearly two months since I attend the Dayton Dragons game with Misty, as directed. I took part in the “exercise” but I’m still wondering about its purpose or what was to be gained from it. Did I gain anything from it other than enjoying a ball game that I would not have otherwise attended. Did I get to know Misty any better? Did she get to know me any better? I’d have to say no on both counts. It was just another work-related assignment. We didn’t engage in any work-related conversation nor did we talk about anything that we wouldn’t discuss at work.

    Did this “exercise” meet its objectives? Did it fullfil its purpose? Inquiring minds want to know.

Leave a Reply

