Cemetery Queries

All I know about the final resting place of Solomon M. Gaines is that he was buried in the “Madison Cemetery” on or about 31 July 1909. That really doesn’t really tell me much. Had there been only one cemetery in Madison in 1909, it would be a relatively easy to narrow it down. There is but one cemetery in Madison Village, namely Fairview Cemetery, but there are several cemeteries located in the township and most of them were in use around 1909.

I suppose it is possible that when the paper referred to “the Madison Cemetery,” they meant Fairview but if I’ve learned anything in genealogy (and in life), it’s that you can never assume. Until I see a record or another solid piece of evidence, the closest I can narrow his burial location is Madison, Lake, Ohio. It’s quite probable that Elvira is buried next to him but that’s only speculation. I’ve found that many ancestors and relatives are buried separated from their spouses, many of them in different states.

That has me wondering about the final resting places of other ancestors. I’m sure many of them are buried in now defunct cemeteries where the headstones are now missing or buried. Unfortunately, they died before records were kept at the township or county level. I often wonder how many ancestors were buried in the Webster Cemetery on Clay Road in Thompson. Of the few stones and records that survive, none of them belong to any of my ancestors.

There are other cemetery mysteries that intrigue me. M. A. Webster is buried in the George Webster lot at Maple Grove in Thompson. Who were the parents of this child? I have some ideas but they’re all inconclusive. One possible, though improbable set of parents is George and Vietta. She would have been rather far along in years to be bearing children in 1905 and the 1900 and 1910 census records don’t support it either.

Another possibility is Willis and Mabel. The probability for them being the parents of M. A. Webster is fairly good but I haven’t found any credible evidence yet. For one thing, I don’t know when Willis and Mabel were married. I’ve estimated that they were married around 1905 based on Nellie’s February 1906 birth date but it could have been earlier. I do know that in 1900, Willis was married to Lillie May Folsom Loveland. The 1910 census shows that Mabel had born two children (Nellie and Verna) and both, of course, were living. But they might not have mentioned a stillborn child to the enumerator.

A third, and most likely, possibility is Miles and Viola. By 1910, they had two living children, Alma (1906) and Adolean (1908). I have not been able to locate them in the 1910 census so I don’t have the children born/living information it would provide. They were married in 1903 so a child born in 1905 is very possible. I have not seen any mention of a Webster child born or died in 1905 in online records for Lake or Geauga Counties.

There’s always a mystery to be solved.

2 Responses

  1. I am the son of Adolean A Myers (Webster)
    She lived much of her childhood in Painsville, Oh
    She had two younger sisters as well as her older sister Alma.
    Her younger sisters were Isabelle and Dorthy
    Their parents Miles and Violla are buried in Evergreen cemetary I think it is in Painsville.
    I don’t know if they had a son that died.
    Vietta lived in Willoughby, Ohio with my family in the thirties, and died in the thirties. I don’t know where she was buried. I wasn’t alive then.

  2. Thanks for your response and the additonal information. I still haven’t learned the identity of the M.A. Webster I wrote about in my post. There are several Webster children who died at a very young age buried in the George Webster plot and I can only guess as to who the parents were although they were probably either Willis and Mabel or Miles and Viola since Willis and Miles were the only offspring of George and Vietta. Willis and Mabel had several children that died in infancy.

    George Webster and Vietta (Gaines) Webster are buried in the Maple Grove Cemetery in Thompson, somewhere in the northeast corner of the main cemetery. There a several Webster and Webster-related families buried in that area of the cemetery. We’re related in one fashion or another to a lot of people buried in that cemetery. At one time thw Websters were one of the largest families in Thompson. What is now Clay Street, heading north off of Rt 166 used to be named Webster Road. It seems that most of the Thompson Websters had moved into Lake County by the 1930s.

    Again, thanks for the response. It’s always good to hear from a cousin. If there’s any information, I can offer you just let me know.

    Rick Romig

Leave a Reply

