Blakeslee questions

At long last I made the trip to my local Family History Center and ordered the Blakeslee probate documents. I am hoping they will answer a lot of my questions. I’m looking forward to its arrival.

I sent an e-mail to the Geauga County Archives on Monday, requesting whatever information they have about the probate ledgers for Cooper and Uri Blakeslee. I still haven’t heard from them. I’ve been told they’re generally very responsive. I guess if I don’t hear anything by Thursday, I’ll send a request via snail mail.

I’m not sure what the relationship between Cooper and Uri was but I’m hoping to find out. There were several Blakeslee families that made the journey from Connecticut and Massachusetts to the Western Reserve and most are related somehow. I’m hoping Cooper’s probate documents will give me more information on his children. I know about his children who were born in Connecticut but I’ve also heard about children who were born in New Marlborough, Massachusetts. Lately, I’ve been hearing that his wife may not have been Mary Sackett although virtually all the genealogies I’ve seen indicate that she is. I’m wondering what became of her after Cooper’s death. Did she return to Connecticut where she died in about 1850 or did she remain in Ohio? Cooper and Mary had at least one daughter who did not emigrate to Ohio, remaining in Connecticut. I have had no luck in locating Mary in the 1850 census.

Maybe later this summer or in the early fall, I can take a week’s vacation and make a trip to the home territory for a research trip. I’m sure I could spend at least a day in each of three libraries — Morley, Chardon, and Geneva. There are also cemeteries to visit. I still need to photograph the Gaines headstones I missed last time. To tell the truth, I could spend months conducting research in Lake, Geauga, and Ashtabula counties.

Leave a Reply

