A New Leaf On The Family Tree

My most recent descendant, Nicholas Warren Romig, arrived yesterday morning (9 May 2006) at 7:09 AM. He weighed in at 7 pounds, 9.8 ounces at a length of 21 inches. He was born at Greene Memorial Hospital in Xenia, Greene County, Ohio. We took his siblings over to the hospital to meet him yesterday evening.

NWR
Nicholas Warren Romig

I attempted to get into Legacy yesterday to update Nicholas’ information but I got an error message. I’m going to have to reinstall it and it might was well be on a new hard drive. I have the drive mounted in a removable tray, ready to be installed. Tonight’s mission will be to install the removable drive bay and put the current drive into a tray. When I’m not using the computer, I’ll remove the new drive and keep the old drive for everyone else to use. While I’m at it, I think I’ll install a DVD writer too.

I’ll begin the process of backing up my data and settings, and finding all the information I need to reinstall my applications tonight. I had thought about cloning the current drive but I think it will be better if I start from scratch.

Oh, I made the update to Legacy on my work laptop. I’ll have the data backed for when I get it reinstalled on my home computer. I updated the main genealogy page yesterday to officially welcome Nicholas to the family.

I haven’t taken another look at The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding yet. It’s still in the back of my mind. I’m sure FrankenWeb is capable and I just need to check and see if MySQL and PHP are installed. My Linux skills there are a bit rusty.

I’m also giving serious thought to expanding this blog by offering membership to select family members. I’ve got a lot of things on my plate right now but I’ll try to get the invitations out by this weekend.

Leave a Reply

