Charlotte Ray’s family

I revisited some Ancestry/Rootsweb forums and found a post about a Ray family in Thompson, Ohio. Going back through the census for 1830, 1840, and 1850, it would appear that my third great-grandmother Charlotte Ray could have been the daughter of Abel Ray of Thompson or George G. C. Ray of Leroy Township. In 1830 and 1840 both censuses indicated that they had daughters in Charlotte’s age group. I haven’t been able to find birth records for that time period if they exist. I wonder if I can get a copy of the marriage license. Would that have her parents’ names on it?

Much of the information I’ve seen on Abel Ray is inaccurate. Most of the data I’ve found shows Sally (Sarah) Packard as the mother of all of his children, which is likely, since his first wife, Sally, died in 1832 and is buried in Madison. The Geauga County marriage index shows that he married Sally (Sarah) Packard in 1833. The cemetery index shows him and Sarah buried in Bartlett Cemetery in Thompson.

One Response

  1. This past weekend I received an email with information showing that my third-great-grandmother, Charlotte Ray was the daughter of George G. C. Ray of Leroy. I did some follow-up research on Ancestry.com but could not find any information that listed Charlotte among his offspring. I did find a marriage document for her and Dennis Webster confirming that they were married in Geauga County in 1844. At that time Leroy Township would have been part of Lake County. The only names on the document were the bride and groom, the officiant, and the court clerk. It appears that they were married by a Justice of the Peace.

    I found George Ray’s will in Lake County Probate records hoping that it would give me some leads but he left his entire estate to his widow, Betsy.

    I need to request more information from my genealogical benefactor. I’m curious to know what source documents he found.

Leave a Reply

