Mary Sackett Blakeslee in 1850

Yesterday I did a little searching to see if I could find Mary Sackett Blakeslee in the 1850 census. Most of the data I’ve seen says she died about 1850 in Waterbury, New Haven, Connecticut. Of Cooper and Mary’s seven offspring, it appears that only Theodora remained in Connecticut. The 1850 census show Theodora and her husband, Levi Brockett living in North Haven. I found no sign of Mary in Ohio or Connecticut in the 1850 census so it’s quite possible that she died before the census. A check of online cemetery information for New Haven County didn’t turn up anything either. I guess that will have to remain a mystery for a while.

I don’t know why I had Louisa Blakeslee Knapp dying in Connecticut in 1868, I probably found bad information on the Web or my fingers got happy entering data. A check of census records show her and husband Philander living in Geneva, Ashtabula, Ohio in the 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880 censuses. I didn’t expect them to appear in the 1900 census since they would have been in their late 90s, not impossible but highly unlikely.

Leave a Reply

